

INSTRUMENT OF GOVERNMENT

- (1) The name of the federation is "The Acorn Federation".
- (2) The names and categories of the schools in the federation are:
 - a. Long Lane Church of England Voluntary Controlled School
 - b. Marston Montgomery Primary School is a Community school.
- (3) The name of the governing body is 'The governing body of The Acorn Federation'.
- (4) The governing body shall consist of:
 - a. 4 Parent Governors, two from each school;
 - b. 1 Local Authority governor;
 - c. 1 Staff Governor;
 - c. 1 Headteacher;
 - e. 3 Foundation Governors
 - f. 2 Co-opted governors.
- (5) Total number of governors is 12.
- (6) The term of office of all governors is 4 years.
- (7) The appointment and removal of foundation governors shall be conducted as follows:
 - (a) The Derby Diocesan Board of Education appoints one Foundation governor having regard to (but not being bound by) nominations received from the Long Lane Parochial Church Council.
 - (b) As the appointing body and in accordance with Regulation 20(1) of the Regulations, Derby Diocesan Board of Education may remove from office any foundation governor so appointed under paragraph 7(a).
- (8) Religious ethos of Long Lane Primary School:

Recognising their historic foundation, Long Lane Primary School will preserve their religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England and in partnership with the Church at parish and Diocesan level.

The school's aim to serve their communities by providing an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. They encourage an understanding of the meaning and significance of faith and promotes Christian values through the experience they offers to all their pupils.

- (9) This Instrument of Government comes into effect on the date of its making, replacing the instrument made on 1 September 2018.
- (10) This Instrument was made by order of Derbyshire Local Authority on 5 March 2019.
- (11) A copy of the Instrument of Government must be supplied to every member of the governing body (and the headteacher if not a governor), the school's trustees and to the Diocesan Board of Education.