Welcome to our new website!


At the Acorn Federation we believe that it is important to provide our children with a broad, balanced and exciting curriculum.

Our Garden Class (Reception, Year 1 and Year 2) follow a three year cycle of topics. Our Meadow Class (Years 3, 4, 5 and 6) follow a four year cycle of topics.

We use the National Curriculum as the starting point of our 'Acorn Federation Curriculum'. Curriculum leads have developed Skills Grids which detail the skills each year group will develop. Teachers have developed knowledge grids which are used to support termly assessments of pupils. These are differentiated into Silver (the expected standard) and Gold (exceeding the expected standard). Those pupils who do not achieve Silver are assessed to be working towards.

We are currently developing pages for each curriculum subject, watch this space for more information...
Garden Class

Cycle A - 2019 to 2020
Cycle B - 2020 to 2021
Cycle C - 2021 to 2022
Meadow Class

Cycle A - 2018 to 2019
Cycle B - 2019 to 2020
Cycle C - 2016 to 2017
Cycle D - 2017 to 2018
Reading and Phonics
Our reading schemes are made up from a range of reading schemes, such as Collins Big Cat Phonics, Songbirds Phonics and Floppy’s Phonics. Free reader books are also available to ensure the children are exposed to a wide vocabulary.  All books are colour coded and progress through the ‘Letters and Sounds’ phonics phases, enabling the children to access texts that match their phonics skills.