Home Page

TEAM ‘Together Everyone Achieves More’


What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our Curriculum subjects here.


Early Years Foundation Stage


Reception children are known as being part of the Early Years Foundation Stage. Children in years 1 and 2 are at Key Stage 1 and children in years 3 to 6 are known as Key Stage 2.

Our curriculum is planned using guidance from The Early Years Foundation Stage document. We teach curriculum through the three prime areas: Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development and the specific areas: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World, Expressive Arts and Design. We do this by incorporating a range of practical, teacher-led and child-initiated activities, which encourage independence and high levels of involvement.

The Early Learning Goals are broadly equivalent to level 1 of the National Curriculum.


Key Stages 1 and 2


At Key Stages 1 and 2, the National Curriculum requires children to be taught the statutory subjects of English, Mathematics, Science, Design and Technology, Computing, History, Geography, Art and Design, Music and PE. A Modern Foreign Language is taught at KS2. Under the Education Act 1996, schools must also provide Religious Education. Guidelines for promoting personal, social, and health education (PSHE) and citizenship are also followed.


Children will be regularly assessed during each Key Stage, as they follow the programmes of study laid down by the National Curriculum. Statutory Baseline Assessment takes place as children start school in Reception. Formal statutory assessments take place at the end of Year 2 and Year 6. On-going assessments are carried out throughout the year.


All National Curriculum Programmes of Study are available for parents to inspect on application to the Headteacher.


We hold the “Basic Skills Agency’s Quality Mark 2” for high standards of teaching and learning.

Reading and Phonics

Our reading schemes are made up from a range of reading schemes, such as Collins Big Cat Phonics, Songbirds Phonics and Floppy’s Phonics. Free reader books are also available to ensure the children are exposed to a wide vocabulary.  All books are colour coded and progress through the ‘Letters and Sounds’ phonics phases, enabling the children to access texts that match their phonics skills.